Florida Notary Public Updates
November 7 – Notary Public Day
In honor of Notary Public Day on November 7 – we would like to share some fun facts about the Notaries Public:
- In the State of Florida, the term of office is for four years.
- The first notary law to be approved in Florida happened in 1822.
- A notary’s seal & record book belongs to him/her even if their employer paid for it.
- The state of Louisiana has more extensive notary duties. This is because the state was founded by the French whose legal system is based on Roman law. The rest of the states adopted the common law of England.
- The first notary public appointed in the United States happened in New Haven, now Connecticut, in 1639.
- An embossing seal may not be used in place of a rubber stamp, rather, in conjunction with it.
- A notary can marry two individuals.
- The maximum fee a notary can charge is $10.00. A notary can charge up to $30.00 for a wedding but no more than that. Fee’s are not mandatory.
- The plural form of “notary public” is notaries public, not notary publics.
- The jurisdiction for a notary is limited to the geographical boundaries of the state in which their commission is valid.
- Electronic notarizations are allowed in the state of Florida.
- A bond protects the public in case of a notarial error.
- Errors & Omissions insurance protects the notary.
- The Notary Public is required to maintain a bond in the amount of $7,500 in the state of Florida during their 4 year commission.
- A bonding agency, like Troy Fain Insurance, must submit the paperwork to the state on behalf of the notary.
- The American Society of Notaries (ASN) is the oldest national non-profit association for notaries public in the USA.
- ASN’s corporate office relocated to Tallahassee, FL in 1994.
Be sure to thank your local notary public for their service.